We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy & you agree to the site's terms & condition

Martin & Co Nottingham City

A selection of reviews/testimonials by highest rating
(in some cases, not all reviews/testimonials will be displayed)
1.00 /5

You are the worst of the worst when it comes to competency of your job. You exploit people for your gain. You should look seriously into improvement inside ur house.

1.00 /5

Unethical and unprofessional practices! Robbie Jacques got in contact when our contract was due for renewal after 1 year. We expected it to automatically go onto a 1 month rolling contract (as per the original contract we signed) but this was not the case. When we checked the information it was a 6 month contract which did not suit us as we were buying a house. We made contact to say we would prefer the rolling contract but was told very rudely that the LL is looking for a minimum of 6 months. This put us in a very difficult position, we offered to pay the LL £25 per month on top of the increased rent and offered to go onto a 2 month rolling contract. Again, told in rude term that this was not acceptable. I did some research and found that some letting agents do this to try and increase their fees. The advice I found was to ask for the LL address which they legally have to give you within 21 days. This way I could make contact with the LL and explain the situation personally. After doing this I had a quick reply confirming the 1 month rolling contract was accepted along with the original rent increase. I did not receive the LL's address which I think is actually against the law. We recently handed our notice in and I asked again (6 months after the original request) for the LL's address and still no response. We have decided not to make a formal complaint because we do not want to have to deal with this business again. However, wanted to make others aware of their unprofessional and unethical practices. Please avoid if possible!

Reply from agent

Hi Jemma I am really dismayed by your review as this is not at all the service we would expect any tenant to receive from Martin and Co, Nottingham City. I am experienced within the industry sector however I have only recently joined Martin and Co, therefore I am keen to help and would be very grateful if you could call me personally on 07799 501673 when you are able to as this will help me to learn more about your experience and to identify any training needs. I look forward to hearing from you and I am sorry you have had a negative encounter. Kerry McIvor

1.00 /5

The worst experience I have had in years. Communication was terrible, at some point they called me to ask if some contractor could enter the property while I was away for the window repair that was due for over 3 months then (spoiler alert: they left it worse than it was), to which I think I agreed over the phone, but sent a follow up email after a few minutes confirming in writing that I do not agree to anyone entering the property whilst I'm away. They entered anyway, which the agency confirmed. At the end of the tenancy they tried to take away all of my deposit for minimal damage to the property, and straight up lied in the check out inventory. They pictured a different set of keys than the one I posted them. Mine had no identifiable marks on it and one bit of plastic attached to the keys was ripped in half, the ones they pictured had a paint mark on the key and intact plastic bit. Also one foldable chair in the property was broken when I arrived, with rotten wood inside, that I replaced myself, and yet they still tried to claim 3x its price for a replacement and evidently tried to avoid including it in pictures of the property. Among the other absurd claims was around £100 for "redecoration" due to a scuff mark on the bathroom wall, as there was no doorstop. They claimed that I shouldn't have opened the door all the way knowing there was no door stopper, and TDS somehow agreed this was "beyond wear and tear" and awarded them £30. Also a cleaning charge, with the cleaning company being completely affiliated with them (same name and address), where the invoice had an incorrect number of rooms for the property. I could go on, but I'll stop here. Overall, the stay was decent with only a few hiccups, but beware that at the end you will have to fight hard for your deposit.

1.00 /5

Worst agency I used in the UK, lived nearly 5 years on a rented property with Martin and Co, had many problems but the worse was at the end of the tenancy when they (and the landlord) tried to keep almost all my deposit using a super unfair … More

1.00 /5

Worst agency I used in the UK, lived nearly 5 years on a rented property with Martin and Co, had many problems but the worse was at the end of the tenancy when they (and the landlord) tried to keep almost all my deposit using a super unfair claim, I recovered most of it after starting a dispute which took a lot of my time, so if you want to avoid stress and wasting your time, don’t use this agency. I moved somewhere else and still avoid Martin and Co as a result of this terrible experience. Fortunately I recently had a great experience with other agency, during all the tenancy period they were professional and great which made me have some hope that good professionals exits in this field. I felt I should leave this review to help other people as now I know good agencies do exist!

1.00 /5

Terrible, tried to book 2 viewings for a flat neither time Agents showed up. Upon calling the office to see if they would be coming, I was given 2 different silly excuses as to why no one would be coming. Avoid.

Reply from agent

Hi Thank you for your review. After further investigation I can confirm that unfortunately you did not confirm the appointment on the day for security reasons we must need confirmation . We called you in the morning and we make all viewers aware to confirm appointments otherwise we will not attend. Apologies for the inconvenience caused. I hope you understand we have to keep to our company policies.

1.00 /5

The worst experience one can have in his life... I liked one of their property and paid the holding deposit on the date of viewing. Later I went through there process including reference check and everything. I made the payment of another 4 weeks deposit and one month advnce payment, booked for the energy supply, internet, water and council tax after confirmation. After one month of this, on the day of key handover, they said they can't because my job hasn’t been permanent yet and asked for 6 months advance rent. I agreed as I need one on urgent basis. But later they said they can't as it's about tge landlord who doesn’t want us for the tenancy. I mean seriously it took one month for her to get understand what she needs actually. I won't recommend this agency because they don't actually know what they are looking for and have zero professionalism.

Reply from agent

Hi Thank you for your feedback and apologies you have had a poor experience. Unfortunately after further investigation the references were not satisfactory and the Landlord is able to decide to not go ahead with let at any time. Unfortunately this was the case in your let. Apologies for the inconvenience caused and we take your comments into account. Have a lovely day.

1.00 /5

Absolutely shocking. I was living in a flat building that was being constantly broken into by homeless people. I had human faeces in my corridor. People smoking and taking drugs in my corridor. I was approached several times by individuals multiple times and as a female living alone who worked nights this became quite distressing. The fire exit was an health hazard as people had been living in it. Asked for an early tenancy realise waited months to hear back to then be denied by the landlord and no help offered. The only time they were good at communicating was when they wanted the rent I refused to pay after I had no other option but to leave. Martin and co Nottingham are absolutely shocking from start to finish. Absolutely ridiculous moving out charges such as fingerprints on chrome light switches that need cleaning and a £33 to change a light bulb that had gone, and for replacement locks to be done as ‘I had not returned the keys’ they then proceeded to include a picture of the keys in the check out form, these are just a few examples, they have tried to charge almost £2000 in checking out expenses. I wanted to move out of my flat due to it becoming an unsafe place to live I.e. constant break ins to the building, human poo in the corridors and people smoking drugs in the hallways. Martin and co plus the landlord were no help at all waited months for responses. I made the decision to move out due to the conditions I was living in and from then on forward the company was a downright disgrace. Do not move in to a Martin and co property. They are horrendous to work with.

Reply from agent

Hi Apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Unfortunately there is not much we can do in regards to the communal areas. We have many tenants living in this building and we have not had any complaints previously. However we have contacted the managing company to make them aware. It is very important to close the communal doors so no one other than residents can gain access. I just had a look at the check out report which is done by an independent clerk and this assessment has unfortunately raised some discrepancies. Apologies if it is not to your satisfaction. Any feedback is appreciated and we endeavour to improve our services.

1.00 /5

My experience with Martin&Company ,Nottingham was an absolute nightmare from start to finish. Their lack of professionalism was evident in every interaction, from missed deadlines to unresponsive communication. Despite promising top-notch service, they failed to deliver on even the most basic commitments, leaving me frustrated and disappointed. Their staff was unhelpful, often ignoring my concerns and providing misleading information. The final product was not at all what was agreed upon, forcing me to seek additional help elsewhere to fix their mistakes. Overall, my dealings with Martin & Company were a complete waste of time and money, and I strongly advise others to avoid them at all costs.

Reply from agent

Hi Thank you for your review and we apologise you feel this way. Unfortunately you failed all referencing and we are unable to let the property for you. When you pay the holding deposit you sign a terms of business stating if the referencing fails due to misleading information etc we will be unable to refund the holding deposit. We also stop advertising the property in the hopes the references return satisfactory meaning the landlord has now lost on getting the property let for a couple of weeks. I hope you understand that we are unable to let a property with failed references. If you have any questions please liaise with the Office.

1.00 /5

Worst experience I ever had...and poor customer service...I viewed a house on last week..and I placed an holding deposit 175 and in the reference they said you can't take the house...and forget the holding deposit...They are faking the ad and cheating peoples...Don't be cheated...Today I got a mail the tenancy is cancelled..And your money refund is also cancelled..I done everything perfect...Worst cutomer service I ever had...😡😡

Reply from agent

Hi Thank you for your review and we apologise you feel this way. Unfortunately you failed all referencing and we are unable to let the property for you. When you pay the holding deposit you sign a terms of business stating if the referencing fails due to misleading information etc we will be unable to refund the holding deposit. We also stop advertising the property in the hopes the references return satisfactory meaning the landlord has now lost on getting the property let for a couple of weeks. I hope you understand that we are unable to let a property with failed references. If you have any questions please liaise with the Office.

Contact details
Sales Phone:

01158 533230

Opening hours

Unknown

Address

Russell Place, 1, Talbot St, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, NG1 5HJ, Midlands, UK, NG1

We have been specialising in residential lettings, sales, and property management in Nottingham City and surrounding areas since 2003. The vibrant city of Nottingham is situated in the centre of England, offering all city centre amenities alongside beautiful countryside and Sherwood Forest, the home of Robin Hood. At Martin & Co Nottingham you're offered a dedicated point of contact and regular updates throughout the whole process, making your property journey as stress-free as possible. We have a wealth of properties available from one-bedroom flats and starter homes to large family houses - offering something for everyone. Whether you're looking to sell, rent or invest in a property in the Nottingham area or you would like a free valuation, please do get in touch with a member of our team who would be happy to help. For all property enquiries and to arrange a valuation please call Martin & Co Nottingham on: 0115 8533230

Our team

No team information available

No memberships information available

No marketing information available

No awards information available

No memberships information available

No marketing information available

No awards information available